My Experience Interning For The Voice of New York Angie Martinez ðŸ—½ðŸŽ™

It’s not everyday that you get to work along side a legend, let alone someone who has played a major role in shaping the culture that I love so much. I remember the day I got call from Gabe asking me if I wanted to interview Angie Martinez, all I could do is scream, and once I finished he just said “I guess thats a yes…”. (Lol) I was so eager to meet her, I had so many questions, and I was really hoping to impress her on the mic. Luckily, through the grace of God I did and ever since then I have had the pleasure of interning for her for the past seven months.

Angie has been in the game since she was my age and she has gone beyond mastering this craft. She’s the real deal, she’s honest, and she’s not afraid to tell you to get your shit together. I’m not going to lie at times it’s intimidating to work along side her because her work ethic and her team is so solid but I use that as motivation, like how can I be just as dope, how can I make this team even better. Something that I have learned is that one, nothing happens overnight, and two, to get  good at something takes time.
I can’t  thank Angie enough for giving me an opportunity because it has changed my life, I am more than proud to be apart of her team, I consider them my family. I appreciate the tough love and freedom to be myself, and as I travel on this mission of following my dreams I aim to be just a successful and hopefully be able to have the same impact on another.

Leave a comment